The Department of Chemistry at The University of Texas at San Antonio is a comprehensive academic unit that offers Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, Master of Science, and Doctoral degrees.

Our vision is to be a premier department of chemistry advancing scientific literacy through creative research and advances in education, including collaborations within and beyond UTSA. Our faculty are nationally and internationally known for their contributions to science.

Students have access to strong research programs, state-of-the-art resources, and competitive financial support. Our faculty members conduct research in a variety of areas and are dedicated to the university mission of discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement, and public service.

Audrey Lamb, Ph.D.


Audrey Lamb, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Chair



Undergraduate Students


Graduate Students




Research Expenditures

Faculty Positions for Fall 2024

The Department of Chemistry invites applications for a Rita and John Feik Distinguished Chair in Medicinal Chemistry and an Assistant Professor in Computational Chemistry for Fall 2024. Use these links for additional information on how to apply.

REU Program for Summer 2024

The Voelcker Summer Research Experience for Undergraduates in Pharmaceutical Sciences program offers an immersive 8-week summer research experience in the areas of Medicinal Chemistry, Preclinical Pharmacology, Biochemistry, and Chemical Biology within The University of Texas at San Antonio’s College of Science Chemistry Department. Use these links for additional information and to start the application process.

Social Media

Stay connected & engaged with UTSA Chemistry!